Associate Deputy Minister of Public Safety Canada

Vincent Rigby

Vincent Rigby

The Prime Minister appointed Vincent Rigby as Associate Deputy Minister of Public Safety effective July 17, 2017. 

Prior to this appointment, Mr. Rigby was Assistant Deputy Minister of Strategic Policy at Global Affairs Canada from 2013 to 2017, where he was responsible for providing integrated strategic policy advice reflecting the foreign policy, international assistance and international trade streams of the Department.  In this capacity, Mr. Rigby also served as the Personal Representative (Sherpa) to the Prime Minister on the G20, supporting three G20 Leaders’ Summits.  Mr. Rigby carried out a number of additional roles as Assistant Deputy Minister, including as the Department’s Chief Results and Delivery Officer, G7 Sous-Sherpa, Chief Negotiator for the Post-2015 Development Agenda, and Chair of the Arctic Council’s Senior Arctic Officials.

Before the creation of Global Affairs Canada, Mr. Rigby was Vice-President of the Strategic Policy and Performance Branch of the former Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA).  In this role, Mr. Rigby was responsible for developing and coordinating Canada’s international assistance policy as well as overseeing the performance management and evaluation of Canada’s development programme. 

From 2008 to 2010, Mr. Rigby was the Executive Director of the International Assessment Secretariat (IAS) at the Privy Council Office (PCO).  Mr. Rigby was also Afghanistan Intelligence Lead Official while at PCO, responsible for coordinating the Canadian intelligence community in support of Canada’s Afghanistan mission.

Before arriving at PCO, Mr. Rigby was Assistant Deputy Minister (Policy) at the Department of National Defence (DND) from 2006 to 2008.  Over his 14 years at DND, Mr. Rigby held a number of other positions within the Policy Group, including Director General Policy Planning, Director of Policy Development and Director of Arms and Proliferation Control Policy.  Prior to joining DND, he was a defence and foreign policy analyst at the Research Branch of the Library of Parliament, from 1991 to 1994.

Mr. Rigby holds an MA in diplomatic and military history from Carleton University in Ottawa.

Date modified:

Sous-ministre délégué de Sécurité publique Canada

Vincent Rigby

Vincent Rigby

Le premier ministre a nommé Vincent Rigby au poste de sous-ministre délégué de Sécurité publique. M. Rigby occupera ce poste à compter du 17 juillet 2017.

Avant cette nomination, Vincent Rigby était sous-ministre adjoint du Secteur de la politique stratégique d’Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) de 2013 à 2017. Il était chargé de formuler des conseils en matière de politique stratégique intégrée portant sur les volets d’AMC liés à la politique étrangère ainsi qu’au  développement et au commerce internationaux. Dans le cadre de ce poste, M. Rigby s’est également acquitté de la fonction de représentant personnel (sherpa) du premier ministre auprès du G-20 dans le cadre de trois sommets de dirigeants du G-20. M. Rigby a aussi joué d’autres rôles en tant que sous-ministre adjoint, dont ceux d’agent principal des résultats et de l’exécution du Ministère, de sous-sherpa du G7, de négociateur en chef du Programme de développement pour l’après-2015 et de président des hauts représentants de l’Arctique du Conseil de l’Arctique.

Avant la création d’AMC, M. Rigby était vice-président de la Direction générale des politiques stratégiques et du rendement à l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI). Il était chargé d’élaborer et de coordonner la politique d’aide internationale du Canada ainsi que de superviser la gestion et l’évaluation du rendement du programme de développement du Canada.

De 2008 à 2010, M. Rigby a été directeur exécutif du Bureau de l’évaluation internationale (BEI) au Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP). M. Rigby a aussi été responsable en chef du renseignement sur l’Afghanistan pendant son séjour au BCP, étant chargé de coordonner la communauté canadienne du renseignement pour appuyer la mission du Canada en Afghanistan.

Avant de travailler au BCP, M. Rigby a été sous-ministre adjoint (politiques) au ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), de 2006 à 2008. Pendant les 14 années qu’il a passées au MDN, M. Rigby a occupé un certain nombre de postes au sein du groupe des politiques : directeur général de la planification des politiques, directeur de l’élaboration des politiques et directeur de la politique sur le contrôle des armements et la prolifération. Avant de se joindre au MDN, il a été analyste de la défense et de la politique étrangère à la Direction de la recherche de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, de 1991 à 1994.

M. Rigby est titulaire d’une maîtrise ès arts en histoire diplomatique et militaire de l’Université Carleton, à Ottawa.

Date de modification :